Blog Assignment #4 | My Dream Computer

I have rotten luck with computers — they inexplicably crash, video input stops working, and keys fall off seemingly at random and with high frequency. This is the fourth laptop I’ve had since I started high school, so the road of new computer shopping is well-worn for me, though still a little bit scary. Such an expensive purchase is something you have to mull over very carefully, because unless you’re satisfied with what comes in the mail, you have to deal with the hassle of returning it or swapping out parts. I usually have to find a model I like, get five outside opinions, and mull over the computer for at least a week before I buy it. So for this assignment, I had to face this fear head on and just go for it, with a $1700 budget (for the record, I could spend much more than that on a computer. Oops)

The Lenovo Y510P, Check out that 1920 x 1080 resolution!

The Lenovo Y510P, Check out that 1920 x 1080 resolution!

Current Computer Specs: 

  • MANUFACTURER AND MODEL: Lenovo Y510P
  • CPU NAME AND SPEED: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4700MQ CPU @ 2.40 GHz
  • HARD DRIVE TYPE AND STORAGE CAPACITY: I have an SSD that is 22 GB, and an HDD that is 932 GB.
  • RAM: 8.00 GB
  • VIDEO CARD DETAILS: NVIDIA GeForce GT750M GDDR5 2GB
  • MAXIMUM DISPLAY RESOLUTION (measured in pixels): 1920 x 1080
  • LAPTOP DISPLAY SIZE (measured in inches): 15.6″
  • BATTERY LIFE: 6 Cell 72 Watt Hour Lithium-Ion (It lasts about 4 hours with a full charge)
  • WEIGHT: 5.95 lbs
  • DATA PORTS: 1 Headphone Port, 1 Microphone Port, 3 USB ports (2x 3.0, 1x 2.0), 1 DVD/Blu-Ray Drive, 1 Ethernet port, 1 Card Reader
  • VIDEO CONNECTIONS: VGA, HDMI
  • CPU BENCHMARK SCORE2824

And now, onto my dream computer specs if I had $1700 to burn!

The Macbook Pro. At 15.4", it's one of the bigger models. I find it weird that Apple laptops run so small for that much money.

The Macbook Pro. At 15.4″, it’s one of the bigger models. I find it weird that Apple laptops run so small for that much money.

Dream Computer Specs | Mac:

Cost: $1,659.00

  • MANUFACTURER AND MODEL: MacBook Pro (Feb 2013)
  • CPU NAME AND SPEED: 2.4GHz Quad-core Intel i7 with Retina Display
  • HARD DRIVE TYPE AND STORAGE CAPACITY: 256 GB Flash Storage
  • RAM: 8GB of 1600MHz DDR3L SDRAM
  • VIDEO CARD DETAILS: Intel HD Graphics 4000 and NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M with 1GB of GDDR5 memory
  • MAXIMUM DISPLAY RESOLUTION (measured in pixels): 2880 x 1800
  • LAPTOP DISPLAY SIZE (measured in inches): 15.4″
  • BATTERY LIFE: 95 Watt Hour, lasts 7 hours
  • WEIGHT: 4.46 lbs
  • DATA PORTS: MagSafe 2 power port, Two Thunderbolt ports (up to 10 Gbps), HDMI port, Two USB 3 ports (up to 5 Gbps), one SDXC card slot
  • VIDEO CONNECTIONSThunderbolt ports with support for DVI, VGA, and dual-link DVI (requires adapters, sold separately) 
  • CPU BENCHMARK SCORE: 2613

Dream Computer Specs | PC: 

The Lenovo Y510P...again! Pretend you can see the extra features on it.

The Lenovo Y510P…again! Pretend you can see the extra features on it.

Disclaimer: This part was difficult because I’m extremely satisfied with my current computer, and all my search results (both on aggregate sites, like CNet and Amazon, and company websites like Lenovo and Dell) with the parameters of under $1700 and good for gaming kept turning up the laptop I currently have. This is good news for me, but doesn’t make sense for the assignment. So I picked the same company but got some extra features on the same model, which I hope is okay, because downgrading didn’t make sense to me. Cost: $1599

  • MANUFACTURER AND MODEL: Lenovo Y510P
  • CPU NAME AND SPEED: 4th Generation Intel Core i7-4700MQ Processor (2.40GHz 1600MHz 6MB)
  • HARD DRIVE TYPE AND STORAGE CAPACITY1TB 5400 RPM + 24GB SSD
  • RAM: 16.0GB PC3-12800 DDR3L SDRAM 1600 MHz
  • VIDEO CARD DETAILS: NVIDIA GeForce GT755M (SLI) GDDR5 2GB
  • MAXIMUM DISPLAY RESOLUTION (measured in pixels): 1920 x 1080
  • LAPTOP DISPLAY SIZE (measured in inches): 15.6″ Glossy LED
  • BATTERY LIFE: 6 Cell 72 Watt Hour Lithium-Ion
  • WEIGHT: 6 lbs
  • DATA PORTS:  1 Headphone Port, 1 Microphone Port, 3 USB ports (2x 3.0, 1x 2.0), 1 DVD/Blu-Ray Drive, 1 Ethernet port, 1 Card Reader
  • VIDEO CONNECTIONS: VGA, HDMI
  • CPU BENCHMARK SCORE: 2824

After this research, I have to say, I would still definitely go for the PC. I’m just not a Mac person — I find them incredibly difficult to navigate, and frustrated by how often they place aesthetic over function. Plus, I’m totally shocked how little storage they have compared to the PC! Though the retina display would be nice, I am flabbergasted that they have 1/4 of the storage space. Also, I love my current computer, and it would be great to have a version of it that was even nicer!

Both of these computers are definitely appealing, and hopefully I’ll have an easier time researching my next laptop (with any luck, that won’t be for a few years!)

Leave a Reply

